Service Roles 2019-2020

Director: Ross Whitaker

Associate Director: Mike Kirby

SoC Executive Committee: Rajeev Balasubramonian, Jim de St. Germain, Mary Hall, Kobus Van der Merwe, Michael Young, Mike Kirby, and Ross Whitaker (chair).

All three of the positions below are, by default, on SoC Exec, along with 2-3 "at large" members.

Director of Graduate Studies (DGS): Ganesh Gopalakrishnan

- Deputy DGS: Alex Lex
- Grad Studies (Grad Curriculum) Committee consists of all the track directors. The chair of this committee is the DGS. Current Members are as follows:
 - Mahdi Bojnordi Computer Engineering
 - Jacobus Van der Merwe Computer Science
 - Aditya Bhaskara Data Management and Analysis
 - Jason Wiese Human-Centered Computing
 - Ladislav Kraven- Graphics and Visualization
 - Ross Whitaker Image Analysis
 - John Hollerbach Robotics
 - Hari Sundar Scientific Computing
- Graduate Admissions Committee this committee consists of all the track directors plus an additional faculty member (at least) from each major research area. The chair of this committee is denoted as the "Chair of the Graduate Admissions Committee" and answers to the DGS. [Chair: Ladislav Kraven]
- Due Progress Committee this committee consists of all the track directors. It is chaired by the DGS. The DGS, once a year, will report the findings of this committee to the faculty (normally in November).
- BS/MS Chairperson will oversee the specific details of the BS/MS program. This individual will answer to the DGS. [Chair: Jason Wiese]
- Student Awards/Fellowships Liaison this person will work to promote active participation by SoC graduate students in all available fellowship application processes (e.g. NSF Graduate Fellowship, DoE Graduate Fellowship, etc.). [Chair: Aditya Bhaskara]

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Jim de St. Germain

• Undergraduate Studies Committee – consists of selected faculty members (tenure-line and career-line). This committee should have a member from EAE, Data Science and a member from CE. **[Chair: Matthew Flatt]** Current members are as follows: Mahdi Bojnordi (CE representative), Jim de St. Germain, Miriah Meyer, Jeff Phillips (Data Science representative), Zvon

- Rakamanic, Vivek Srikumar, Blair Sullivan, Hari Sundar and Michael Young (EAE representative).
- BS Thesis Faculty Mentor: Oversees the BS thesis process. **Tom Henderson**

Director of Outreach: John Melchi

- Educational Outreach Coordinator Promotion of the interaction between the SoC and various K-12 outlets. [Chair: David Johnson]
- Industrial Liaison John Melchi

Other miscellaneous committees and roles (answering directly to the Director):

Director of the Master's in Software Development (MSD)

Matthew Flatt

School RPT

Rajeev Balasubramonian

Graduate Bootcamp

Tucker Hermans

Organick Lecture Series

Vivek Srikumar (being confirmed)

Distinguished Lecture Series

Vivek Srikumar (being confirmed)

Facilities Liaison

John Regehr

Computer Engineering Liaison

Mahdi Bojnordi

Entertainment Arts and Engineering (EAE) Liaison

Michael Young

Data Science Liaison

Jeff Phillips

Space

Office of the Director

Research Grants

Office of the Director

Undergraduate Liaison (undergraduate engagement, research, etc.)

Ryan Stutsman

Diversity Committee

Tucker Hermans (Chair), Mary Hall, John Melchi, Pavel Panchekha and Bei Wang.

Faculty Awards Committee

Suresh Venkatasubramanian (chair) Mary Hall Blair Sullivan Saday Sadayappan

College RPT Committee

Ellen Riloff